Product SiteDocumentation Site

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6

Release Notes

Release Notes for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6


Legal Notice

Copyright © 2010 Red Hat.
The text of and illustrations in this document are licensed by Red Hat under a Creative Commons Attribution–Share Alike 3.0 Unported license ("CC-BY-SA"). An explanation of CC-BY-SA is available at In accordance with CC-BY-SA, if you distribute this document or an adaptation of it, you must provide the URL for the original version.
Red Hat, as the licensor of this document, waives the right to enforce, and agrees not to assert, Section 4d of CC-BY-SA to the fullest extent permitted by applicable law.
Red Hat, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, the Shadowman logo, JBoss, MetaMatrix, Fedora, the Infinity Logo, and RHCE are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc., registered in the United States and other countries.
Linux® is the registered trademark of Linus Torvalds in the United States and other countries.
Java® is a registered trademark of Oracle and/or its affiliates.
XFS® is a trademark of Silicon Graphics International Corp. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other countries.
MySQL® is a registered trademark of MySQL AB in the United States, the European Union and other countries.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

1801 Varsity Drive
 RaleighNC 27606-2072 USA
 Phone: +1 919 754 3700
 Phone: 888 733 4281
 Fax: +1 919 754 3701

The Release Notes document the major features and enhancements implemented in the Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 release.

1. Introduction
2. Installer
3. File Systems
4. Storage
5. Power Management
6. Package Management
7. Clustering
8. Security
9. Networking
10. Desktop
11. Documentation
12. Kernel
13. Compiler and Tools
14. Interoperability
15. Virtualization
16. Supportability and Maintenance
17. Web Servers and Services
18. Databases
19. Architecture Specific Notes
A. Revision History